Can Vegans Eat Peanut Butter?

Peanut butter, a rich, creamy and moreish condiment that can make boring jelly sandwiches appetizing and chocolates more flavoursome. Just a spoonful of this mouthwatering peanut extracted butter can make almost any companion recipe go from blah to wow.

But are you also wondering “can vegans eat peanut butter?” because almost all vegans want to know if they can make this nutritious spread a part of their vegan diet. Well, the good news is, you can!

Can vegans eat peanut butter?

Manufacturing peanut butter requires just a few ingredients. The most commonly adopted recipe of peanut butter only need:

  • Ground peanuts
  • Salt
  • Oil (mostly brands use plant-based oil)
  • Sugar (rarely)

Nearly all the peanut butter manufacturing companies like to keep their peanut butter vegan; as it is more cost-efficient and appreciated by the consumers.

Some companies also like to add molasses or agave syrup to their product. But since these all ingredients are vegan, we can still enjoy their peanut butter.

Because of the use of plant-based and animal-free ingredients, peanut butter is a globally accepted part of a vegan diet. But not all brands like to keep their peanut butter vegan.

So, let’s dig deeper and find out what can make this vegan spread non-vegan?

What makes peanut butter non-vegan?

Though most of the peanut butter manufacturing companies like to keep their product vegan; there are still a few that use some animal-based ingredients in their peanut butter.

The elements that manufacturers use which makes peanut butter non-vegan are:


Since honey is made by bees, their health can be sacrificed while harvesting the honey for human use. Being vegans we never want to consume anything that in any possible way can cause harm or death to any living creature.

A few peanut butter companies like to add honey instead of sugar in their product to make them sweet and more creamy. So, do not consume peanut butter that contains honey, as such peanut butter would not be considered vegan.

Omega-3 fatty acid

Though Omega-3 fatty acid can be extracted from soybean oil, sunflower oil, canola oil, etc; despite this, some companies like to use Omega-3 fatty acid which is sourced from fishes like Sardines or Anchovies, in their peanut butter.

After mentioning where Omega-3 fatty acid in such peanut butter is extracted from; there must not be any need to explain why it is off-the-list for vegans like us.

Bone char

Peanut butter, manufactured by some brand uses refined can sugar. Though the caned sugar itself doesn’t contain any animal product; but sometimes this sugar is bleached and filtered using bone char.

So, it completely depends upon you that you consider such a brand’s peanut butter vegan or not. But, there a considerable number of vegan do not like to consume any product that uses any animal-based product at any manufacturing level.

How to find if the peanut butter is vegan or not?

Some companies like to put a label of vegan on their peanut butter; that is a straight green light for us. But even finding out that a brand’s peanut butter consists of all plant-based product or not is nothing difficult for the most part.

You can check the ingredient list of the peanut butter. By this one can easily determine where it contains any animal-based product like honey or not. Look out for the ingredients like fish oil, gelatin or honey in the list and you will know if it is consumable or not.

But finding out whether a brand has used any animal-based product like bone char at any level of manufacturing can be tricky.

Food companies that claim to be producing vegan products may also be manufacturing animal-based products. But they are required to provide proper documentation, verifying that all their shared machinery are meticulously cleaned.

Though if you doubt about the brand’s being purely vegan; you can reach out to the companies and they are bound to entertain your concern.

This way you can be 100% sure that you are not consuming peanut butter which is not truly vegan.

So, can vegans eat peanut butter?

After this long discussion of vegan and non-vegan peanut butter, it is time to conclude. Some times it gets incredibly hard to find something tasty and vegan at the same time, fortunately, peanut butter is one of them.

YES! peanut butter is vegan, and you can enjoy this creamy spread on your sandwiches whenever you want.

Though some manufacturers do use animal-based products like honey, fish oils. So, it is always good to have a look at the ingredients list before buying anything; just to be on the safe side.

To conclude, rest assured, you can try all the incredibly easy and mouth-watering recipes using this creamy delight; along with being loyal to your vegan commitment and with nature.

About Mark Miller

I'm Mark, and I am one of the two faces behind CodeVegan. I co-founded CodeVegan alongside Lila. To give you a little background, my journey here hasn't been an easy one. So, for all of you out there struggling, I've been there. You're not alone! Like many of you, I grew up a meat-eater, but I soon realized the impact this had on the world. I've been a vegan for the last ten years, and life has never been better. It takes time to adjust, but it's worth it in the end. Now, my lifestyle choice is an integral part of who I am. In my early days, there wasn't much in the way of information either, so with this blog, I'm here to make sure that doesn't happen to you.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.