Top 5 Best Vegan Cereals

Breakfast, as we all know, the most important meal of the day: and is there anything better than sitting at your table with a big bowl of cereal and your favorite plant-based milk? We don’t think so!

The question that holds back a lot of vegans from enjoying their breakfast is probably along the lines of ‘Is cereal vegan?’ ‘Are there any tasty but healthy options?’.

To answer these questions, we’ve put together a list of the 5 best vegan cereals for your breakfast, as well as a brief guide on what to look for and what to avoid when looking for vegan cereal.

1. Nature’s Path cereals

Nature’s Path products are all vegetarian, and they offer a ton of vegan cereal options from Crispy Rice cereal (made from whole grain brown rice crisps) to Kamut Puffs (made from organic, whole-grain Kamut wheat kernels).

They might not be the cheapest vegan cereal brands, but they offer an amazing blend of cereals and flavors, and they can definitely satisfy every appetite.

Their Qi’a range is one of the most loved among vegans: it offers a different blend of chia seeds, buckwheat, hemp, coconut, sprouted grains, and quinoa, depending on the product.

A lot of their options are also gluten-free, but keep in mind that not every product is vegan, so remember to always check the label!

2. Purely Elizabeth Granola

Purely Elizabeth offers a great range of granola, made with a blend of various superfoods and baked in raw virgin coconut oil. Their granola is sweetened very lightly with coconut sugar, to give you crunchy, sweet-and-salty clusters that are savoury for every tongue.

Flavors range from chocolate sea salt to pumpkin, from blueberry to cranberry. The Chocolate Peanut Butter is particularly delicious if you have a bit of a sweet tooth!

All their granola flavors are suitable for vegans, except for the Honey Almond Probiotic Granola which obviously contains honey rendering it a no go zone for vegans.

3. Living Intentions superfood cereals

Living Intentions is another excellent brand for healthy vegan cereal: their range offers a mix of tasty grains, enhanced with some of the most fortified superfoods available at the moment in the market

This particular range of cereals might be a bit more narrow than other brands, but the options they provide are all amazing. Their five products are Banana Hemp, Cacao Crunch, Blueberry Blast, Radiant Raspberry and Figs, Flax and Fibers.

Their superfood cereals also have a blend of probiotic cultures to support your body and to keep your stomach healthy and regular.

4. Barbara’s cereals

If what you’re looking for is variety, Barbara’s cereals have got you covered. There are several different flavors and all of them are vegan friendly, except for the Hony Rice one.

Puffins Cereals are one of the most popular ranges of this brand, with a lot of flavor options that go from peanut butter to cinnamon, from chocolate to pumpkin.

They also have a Classic Cereal range, and an Organic Cereal one if you’re looking for a low-calorie option. The Snackimals range, with its winning combination of playful animals on each box, is perfect for kids.

5. Bakery on Main Granola

Bakery on Main‘s products are made in a dedicated gluten-free facility, with ingredients good for your health like whole fruits, bean crisps, sprouted grains, chia seeds, and superfoods.

Their products are an overall great source of seeds and nuts, and they’re available in a wide range of flavors that cater to the needs of various individuals They even have a Monster Cookie flavor!

Keep in mind that not every product is vegan (for example the Sprouted Grains and Honey Granola contain trace amounts of honey, so it’s not completely vegan) in this case. Always remember to check the label for ingredients.

What to look for in vegan cereals

vegan cereals

You’ve read our vegan cereal list, so you now know our recommendations for the best brands of vegan cereals on the market and you’re ready to go out there and buy your next breakfast.

But what if you want to try a different brand of cereals? How can you make sure you’re choosing a good option? And how can you know what cereals are vegan?

We’ve put together a brief guide to answer your questions, starting with what you need to look for when it comes to the nutrition facts label of a cereal.

The first thing you have to do is make sure you’re choosing from one of the many vegan cereal brands available. Once you’ve found out that a brand carries vegan cereal, make sure the particular product you’re looking at is indeed vegan.

A lot of organic brands have both vegan and non-vegan, so you need to be extra careful and always check the label.

If you want to find a vegan cereal that is both nutritious and beneficial for your health, you might want to check that it has a good amount of fiber and protein per serving.

The other thing you want to check is sugar: ideally, added sugar, which is often refined and unhealthy, in a cereal should be very low, while naturally occurring sugar can be a bit higher.

What to avoid in vegan cereals

But what exactly makes a cereal non-vegan? There are a few elements that could make a cereal not suitable for vegans, and we’ve listed them here for you.

Vitamin D

Vitamin D can be added to a lot of fortified foods, cereals included. The problem with this is that the vitamin D often added to foods is usually made from lanolin.

The manufacture of lanolin starts with the fleece of the animal: from the wool, around 15% by weight of lanolin gets produced and then converted into vitamin D with irradiations and other methods.

However, we have to point out a difference between vitamin D2 and vitamin D3: vitamin D3 is usually derived from lanolin, as we have just described, but vitamin D2 is usually vegan friendly and made without any animal products.

If a particular brand of cereal specifies what kind of vitamin D they used, you should be good to go, as long as it’s vitamin D2!


A lot of cereal brands that offer mainly vegan cereals can also have a few options with honey, so be sure to always keep an eye on the label and to check for its presence.

The good thing is that a lot of products tend to have “honey” in their name, and many brands tend to be open and clear about when they’re using honey, so being careful shouldn’t be too difficult!


With a plethora of vegan products on the market, choosing the right product tailored for your needs can be a hefty task. Here at CodeVegan, we strive to keep our audience informed about the latest trends, developments and progress in the Vegan space.

Support us by sharing this article with your friends if you think it was worth your time.

About Mark Miller

I'm Mark, and I am one of the two faces behind CodeVegan. I co-founded CodeVegan alongside Lila. To give you a little background, my journey here hasn't been an easy one. So, for all of you out there struggling, I've been there. You're not alone! Like many of you, I grew up a meat-eater, but I soon realized the impact this had on the world. I've been a vegan for the last ten years, and life has never been better. It takes time to adjust, but it's worth it in the end. Now, my lifestyle choice is an integral part of who I am. In my early days, there wasn't much in the way of information either, so with this blog, I'm here to make sure that doesn't happen to you.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.